The Beginning of the End

I said goodbye to a lot of good friends tonight. I don’t want this experience to end — not yet. I feel like the control over my time abroad is slipping away from me. There’s just so little time left. I’m just about at the end. You never really think that these final days would ever come, but here they are. I wish they’d just wait just a little while longer to come around.

I only have a little over a week left abroad, and only two full days of those are in Helsinki.

I leave for Switzerland in just a matter of hours. After Switzerland (Lucerne), I head to Poland (Krakow) and then to Norway (Oslo). A good last trip, but “excited” isn’t really the right word to describe how I’m feeling right now. Of course I’m looking forward to seeing these countries, but I think I would have been just as content relaxing in Helsinki for a week. I know that I will be glad to have gone on this last trip, but I don’t really want to be away from home. I’ve been realizing that I’ve seen a lot in Helsinki and Finland, but I haven’t seen even more. With such a short amount of time, of course, you’d never be able to see it all (heck, you couldn’t see it all in one lifetime!). But there’s always more to see.

Where have the past four months gone? I’m not ready to leave yet.

Leave a Reply

