A White Thanksgiving (Another Mini Post)

Well, it’s late and I’ve decided to not upload my final St. Petersburg post. Oh well. I think about the blog a lot, believe it or not, but each post takes a considerable amount of time to write (and to caption especially). Heads up: there’s 83 pictures in the next post!

But I’m writing this little post from the Finnish Lapland, about 100 miles north of the Arctic Circle! Cool (literally). It’s -9C here, but with the windchill it feels like -25C. That’s about -13F or, in other words, really cold. But it’s really beautiful up here. This is nature in its purest form. And everything is covered with snow! My first snowy Thanksgiving. I didn’t get to have any turkey today, but I did go snowshoeing!

That's me in a Lapp hut. We stopped there to warm up in the middle of snowshoeing tonight. Warm sausages, hot glögi (oh boy are you gonna read a lot about that soon), and traditional storytelling helped fend off the cold...if only for a little while.

That’s me in a Lapp hut. We stopped there to warm up in the middle of snowshoeing tonight. Warm sausages, hot glögi (oh boy are you gonna read a lot about that soon), and traditional storytelling helped fend off the cold…if only for a little while.

I’ll talk more about it in a later post, but snowshoeing was definitely one of the coolest things I’ve ever done. It was simply breathtaking, and it was really just perfect. I don’t really know how to explain it any better than that. It just felt right — snowshoeing in the Finnish Lapland! Why not?

Tomorrow morning, our exchange student group is going for a tour on a sleigh pulled by reindeer. And tomorrow night, I’m going horseback riding on an Icelandic horse for some more night sightseeing. Hopefully I’ll get a peek of the Northern Lights. But wow, what a way to spend some time in Lapland!

Well that’s it for now. I’ll put up the final St. Petersburg post up soon. But three posts in one night! It’s a Thanksgiving miracle.

Bonus Picture:

Me in my new hat. You wouldn't believe how warm it keeps me. You also wouldn't believe how cold it is. Gotta stay toasty somehow.

Me in my new hat. You wouldn’t believe how warm it keeps me. You also wouldn’t believe how cold it is. Gotta stay toasty somehow.

Leave a Reply

