St. Petersburg Day 2: Metro Tour

Lightning round-esque blog posting about to happen. These posts have been bugging me (in the best way possible) since I arrived back in Helsinki from Russia. Since that time, I’ve been to three different countries and I have loads else to write about. So I can’t wait to get these pictures up. Also, I want you to see them! So here they are (finally).

In contrast to Catherine’s Palace, I don’t really know anything about the St. Petersburg metro system — except that they’re beautiful. I read that they were made to cheer up Russian citizens during the time of the Soviet Union, though I don’t know if that’s exactly true. It makes sense though! They were simply the most amazing metro stations that I’ve ever been to, and I can see why they’re world-renowned. I talked about them a bit more here, so if you haven’t read up on it yet, check it out.

Unlike the dedicated Catherine’s Palace post, I don’t think I’ll caption most of these pictures. I don’t really know what to caption other than “Beautiful!” or “Wonderful mosaics!” so they might just speak for themselves. I didn’t take a tour specifically about the metros, so I have next to no info to pass on. Just the pictures, so I hope that they will suffice!

Click on the pictures for a larger view.

Most of the pieces of art in the metro stations I visited were mosaics. But in some of the (even) nicer metro stations, there are large statues and paintings. It's like having a museum where you commute.

Most of the pieces of art in the metro stations I visited were mosaics. But in some of the (even) nicer metro stations, there are large statues and paintings. It’s like having a museum where you commute.

So much marble

So much marble

Many pieces of art are remnants of the Soviet era. That being said, I don't know if this person was from the Soviet era or if this piece of art is from the Soviet era. Just thought that I'd mention it sooner than later.

Many pieces of art are remnants of the Soviet era. That being said, I don’t know if this person was from the Soviet era or if this piece of art is from the Soviet era. Just thought that I’d mention it sooner than later.

IMG_0414

IMG_0417

My route for the tour. I went from Zvenigorodskaya to the Komendantskiy Prospect and back.

My route for the tour. I went from Zvenigorodskaya to the Komendantskiy Prospect and back.

Selfie for my pops. Sorry about the lack of a smile dad, but I guess you get what you get.

Selfie for my pops. Sorry about the lack of a smile dad, but I guess you get what you get.

Russian. But it's all Greek to me.

Russian. But it’s all Greek to me.

One of the mosaics at Sportivnaya station.

One of the mosaics at Sportivnaya station.

I was able to visit Petrovsky Stadium, or the outside of it at least. FC Zenit (St. Petersburg's soccer team) was playing a game that night, so there were tons of people hurrying to the game.

I was able to visit Petrovsky Stadium, or the outside of it at least. FC Zenit (St. Petersburg’s soccer team) was playing a game that night, so there were tons of people hurrying to the game.

The larger mural at Sportivnaya station.

The larger mural at Sportivnaya station.

IMG_0437

I took a brief moment on the metro to play a bit of Tetris...because how could I not?

I took a brief moment on the metro to play a bit of Tetris…because how could I not?

IMG_0441

I believe this station's theme was dedicated to Russia's aviation history.

I believe this station’s theme was dedicated to Russia’s aviation history.

IMG_0446

IMG_0447

IMG_0448

IMG_0449

IMG_0450

IMG_0451

IMG_0453

IMG_0454

IMG_0455

IMG_0456

IMG_0457

IMG_0459

IMG_0460

IMG_0461

IMG_0462

IMG_0463

IMG_0465

IMG_0466

IMG_0468

And on to an entirely different theme at anothe station on my tour.

And on to an entirely different theme at another station on my tour.

IMG_0470

IMG_0471

IMG_0472

IMG_0474

IMG_0475

One of the last murals I saw on my tour. This may have been in the Zvenigorodskaya station, but I don't remember.

One of the last murals I saw on my tour. This may have been in the Zvenigorodskaya station, but I don’t remember.

That’s it for the Metro Tour! I may try to get one more up tonight — just to get these Russia posts off of my plate. I loved ya Russia, but it’s time for me to do some writing on the other places I’ve visited! Hope you enjoyed the pictures (and don’t worry, it’s ok if you enjoyed the ones without captions a little less). I’ll try to not be so lazy and actually get some other posts up soon.

But here’s your teaser of what’s to come: Copenhagen, Sweden (if only briefly), Estonia, and the Finnish Lapland! And to give you an idea of how behind I am…I’m in Lapland writing this now so…bear with me here. I visited Copenhagen, Sweden, and Estonia all within the last week, so there’s my excuse. And I am going to school, so I guess that’s valid too. But anyways, expect more stuff soon. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

